Content Top Nav Left Nav Utility Nav Site Search
Mobile Menu

Dean of Students Office

More Links

Honor Societies

Alpha Kappa Delta (Sociology Honor Society)
Recognizes outstanding students in the area of sociology. Open to junior and senior sociology majors with 3.0+ GPA; 3.0+ GPA in sociology at JSU; completed 4 courses in sociology, and elected by faculty.
Advisor: Tina Deshotels, Sociology Department, 256-782-5350
Email: tdeshotels@jsu.edu

Alpha Phi Sigma (Criminal Justice)
To recognize and promote academic excellence among students engaged in collegiate preparation for professional service in the field of criminal justice.
Advisor: H.Dean Buttram, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8179
Email:dbuttram@jsu.edu

Beta Beta Beta Biology Honor Society
An honor society for students to improve the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research.
Advisor: Michael Burns, Biology Department, 256-782-5036
Email: mburns3@jsu.edu

Chi Sigma Iota (Counseling Honor Society)
Promotes scholarship, research, professionalism, and excellence in counseling.
Advisor: Jerry Kiser, Educational Resources, 256-782-5855
Email:jkiser@jsu.edu

Honors Program
To provide academically gifted students with an enriched educational experience in a diverse
range of courses
Advisor: Lori Owens, Honors Program, 256-782-5640
Email: ljowens@jsu.edu

Kappa Mu Epsilon (Mathematics)
To promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students and to recognize students who have attained academic distinction in mathematics
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
Email: ddempsey@jsu.edu 

Kappa Pi Iota Alpha (International Art Honor Society)
Kappa Pi aims to help students develop professionally and socially within the local art community and their specific area of art.   Advisor: Jauneth Skinner, Art Department, 256-782-5626
Email: jauneths@jsu.edu

Lambda Alpha Epsilon (Alpha Sigma Omega)
To promote Education in the Criminal Justice field.
Advisor: Brian Patton, Criminal Justice Department, 256-782-8126
Email: bepatton@jsu.edu


National Society of Collegiate Scholars
The NSCS is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high achievers. The NCSC provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities and gives out a million dollars in scholarships annually. The members are deeply committed to scholarship, leadership and service and as a result, are impacting their campus and local communities every day.
Advisor: A. Michelle Green, Academic Advisement, 256-782-8303
Email: amgreen@jsu.edu

Phi Alpha (Delta Beta Chapter)
The organization is an academic honor society open only to social work majors, dedicated to supporting knowledge and service.
Advisor: Nancy Francisco Stewart, Department of Sociology and Social Work, 256-782-5344
Email: nfstewart@jsu.edu

Phi Delta Kappa (Student PDK)
To promote and connect leaders in education.
Advisor: Cynthia Connor, Curriculum Instruction, 256-782-8059
Email: cconnoredu@jsu

Psi Chi Chapter
Psi Chi Chapter is an international honor society whose purpose shall be to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in psychology, and to advance the science of psychology.
Advisor: Heidi Dempsey, Psychology and Philosophy Department, 256-782-5895
Email: hdempsey@jsu.edu

Sigma Alpha Pi (formerly The National Society of Leadership and Success)  
An organization that provides leadership and success training, experiential learning to help students develop personally, academically and professionally.
Advisor: Erin Rider, Sociology and Social Work Department, 256-782-8477
Email: erider@jsu.edu

Sigma Tau Delta (English Honor Society) 
To foster all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language, and writing. Provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and promote interest in literature and the English language in surrounding communities.
Advisor: Andrea Porter, English Department, 256-782-5861
Email: aporter@jsu.edu

                                                                                   

                                                                     

 

 

Back to Top