



HONORS PROGRAM

NEWSLETTER | OCTOBER 2011

Welcome 2011 Elite Honors Scholars



Front: Lea Isbell, Emily (Millie) Baine, Noah Trudeau, Emily Smith, Lauren McClendon

Back: Daniel Jackson, Micah Burns, Barbara Edwards



2009 Elite Honors Scholars

Front: Allison Clark, Ben Parr, Michael

Greenwood, Kristin Kays, Courtney Newsome.

Back: Andrew Newsome, Jansen Harmon,

Josh Wise



2010 Elite Honors Scholars

Gregory Felch, Evan Mince, Emilee Smith,

Whitney Gaut, Cody Coots.

Not pictured: Brian Hinkemeyer and Terry

Hinkemeyer.



Dr. Steven Whitton, Director

How gratifying it was as our students returned to campus to realize how much our Honors Program has grown since last year.

The afternoon of September 27 our third group of Elite Honors Scholars were presented to JSU's President William A. Meehan by their mentors, their "links." Each of the incoming scholars will eventually have three student scholar mentors to link them to our program and to the campus, an idea that came from our Honors Student Board. To see our scholars, new and old, at a long table at the reception laughing with each other is one of my favorite memories of the start of this term.

There's evidence that the Honors Program is growing in other ways, too. For example, this semester there are 460 seats occupied in Honors classes offered university-wide. This number is up from 325 seats this semester last year. There were about 200 people at a recent fundraiser for the Honors Program.

Applications for the Honors Program keep coming in, too.

Then there's the Honors House, which has undergone a number of improvements over the summer. There's a sign out front now, so we're easier to find. We are completely wireless, which makes our new deck and picnic tables out back the ideal spot for our Honors students to have lunch, study, and enjoy each other's company. There are new service projects being planned as well. I'd say we've pretty much settled in for the next semester or so.



Jansen Harmon, President Student Honors Board

I am very happy to welcome all of you back to JSU and the Honors Program this year! We are already planning many fun and exciting things for this year, but we would like for the entire program to help out with ideas. So in order to allow every voice to be heard there will be a meeting held on the deck of the Honors House on Oct. 10, 2011 at 5 p.m. It is open to every Honors student who has filled out their application and been accepted. Also, if any Honors students accepted into the program have not picked up a FREE shirt then they may get it after the meeting on Oct. 10.

The JSU Honors Program is becoming a prominent organization on the JSU campus and in the community, but in order to grow, learn, and expand we must have help from every member. This program is on the verge of being something truly extraordinary.

I hope to see everyone at the meeting with some great ideas for our future!



2011 Elite Honors Reception



Special thanks to everyone who helped with the Rick Bragg event. We were very honored to have Rick and Dianne Bragg on campus for a wonderful evening. Over two hundred people in attendance enjoyed a reception and time of reading and storytelling from Rick. Because of the gracious gift of books from Rick, as well as the combined efforts of the College of Arts and Sciences Board of Visitors and of the Honors Program, we were able to raise over \$5000. The proceeds will benefit the Honors Program.

We especially thank Dean Earl Wade and Associate Dean Lisa Williams of the College of Arts and Sciences for their support of this event.

Janet Whitmore, Program Coordinator



Jansen Harmon, President of the Student Honors Board, introduced Rick Bragg.



Lea Isbell, Emily Smith, Lauren McClendon Courtney Newsome, Jansen Harmon, Micah Burns and Andrew Newsome (Elite Honors Scholars) assisted with greeting at the event.





Dr. Steven Whitton, Director of the Honors Program, introduced Dr. William Meehan, President of JSU.





The new Honors Program t-shirts are beginning to show up all over campus. If you have been accepted into the program and have not received your t-shirt yet, please come to the Honors House and see Janet Whitmore to get yours.



Honors Board members (clockwise) Janet Whitmore, Andy Green, and Aaron Garrett, welcome Elite Honors Scholars.



Michael Greenwood and
Whitney Gaut
Elite Honors Scholars